Violent crimes such as assault and aggravated assault are aggressively prosecuted in the State of Texas. If you’ve been accused of this crime, you need skilled legal counsel from the Houston assault attorneys at Maverick Ray & Associates.
An assault defense attorney who has years of experience handling cases like yours can help defend your rights and fight for a positive outcome. We will review your case, develop a strategic defense, and argue on your behalf. We provide comprehensive legal services for Texas clients, including collecting evidence, interviewing witnesses, and representing you in court.
If you have been charged with assault, contact our offices today at (281) 672-8029 or by filling out our free online contact form.
Bodily injury is defined by Texas law as any physical pain, impairment, or illness of any body part or organ.
Serious bodily injury is an injury that causes:
In Texas, aggravated assault is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
An aggravated assault charge can be increased to a first-degree felony if someone uses a deadly weapon and causes bodily injury to a family member, parent, guardian, foster child, member of a household, or someone they are dating.
Additionally, using a deadly weapon against a public servant or security officer while they are performing their job will also result in first-degree felony charges. If convicted of a felony of the first degree, a person may face up to life in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
In Texas, assault charges include those perpetrated against a spouse or other members of a person’s household. Depending on the situation, penalties may be increased when an assault is committed against a spouse or person that the perpetrator is in a close relationship with.
Domestic violence, also referred to as family violence or domestic assault, can result in felony charges on a first offense. It is imperative that you consult a Houston assault lawyer if you have been arrested for domestic violence. It is important to note that once filed, only a prosecutor can reduce or dismiss the charges, despite whether a victim wishes to drop the charges.